The Perfect Girl…

Now, I’ve been wanting to become a published writer since I first learnt how to read, and after some time speculating over what I’m enough of an expert on to write about, a few false starts and bucket-loads of “I’ll-start-first-thing- tomorrows”, Absolutely Godgeous was born.

As my debut post, I can remember telling myself that whatever I decide to type onto this page needs to be epic… It needs to blow your mind at first glance and absolutely change your life! It should make you want to follow me through groundbreaking articles that will make you shed tears on account of how breath-takingly beautiful my sentence structure and grammar is and stick with me through dry spells when I might as well have left a sign written “Lindi’s mind gone fishing”. But in reality, I can edit this a thousand times before its posted and still not have you at hello. So I would at least like to have you at hey, haven’t I seen you somewhere?

In this day and age, there’s a lot of pressure to dazzle the world with clever gimmicks and catch phrases. With the biggest names in fashion and clip-on weaves, eye-lashes and toenails. With every girl trying so hard to look like a clone who just walked out of Mattel inc (the Barbie company), it makes me wonder where we all even got the absurd notion that men are pacing the aisles of Toys”R”Us desperately praying that Barbie would come alive and live happily ever after with them. Or are they?

From a Christian perspective, the legendary Proverbs 31 woman aka “the wife of noble character” sounds like a stark contrast to Miss Barbara “Barbie” Millicent Roberts (yes, she has a full name and last name!), but that in itself is still a tall order by anyone’s standards.

Proverbs 31:1 in the Amplifed Bible states “A capable, intelligent, and virtuous woman–who is he who can find her? She is far more precious than jewels and her value is far above rubies or pearls.”

So its not just about having the latest look and matching accessories, can you imagine a world where young women looked up to women who were capable, intelligent and virtuous and young men were fully prepared to celebrate that?

If you take a look at what embodying the persona of this woman entails, you’ll find that she is:

1. Faithful and trustworthy – (Proverbs 31: 11).

2. She comforts and encourages people- (Proverbs 31-12).    

3. She is highly skilled and no stranger to hard work – (Proverbs 31:13-15).

4. She plans ahead, saves and is successful – (Proverbs 31:16).

5. She is strong spiritually, mentally and physically – (Proverbs 31:17).

6. She never lacks faith in times of trial and tribulation – (Proverbs 31:18).

7. She is giving and reaches out to the less fortunate – (Proverbs 31:20).

8. Her clothing is of linen, pure and fine and of purple; Meaning she dresses for success and looks the part – (Proverbs 31:21-22).

9. She is enterprising and can run her own business with confidence and competence- (Proverbs 31:25).

10. She speaks with wisdom and kindness – (Proverbs 31:26).

11. She is not idle/lazy, discontent and filled with self-pity – (Proverbs 31:17).

Proverbs 31:30 clearly sums it up by saying “Grace and charm are deceptive, and beauty is vain (because it is not lasting), but a woman who reverently and worshipfully fears the Lord, she shall be praised!”

So its all good and dandy to be drop dead gorgeous. To have the long flowing hair, flawless skin, an hourglass figure and legs for days… And days…. But that’s the easy part. Today, if you make enough money, you could buy all that. However it’s character that can’t be faked, bought, stuck on, painted on, tattooed on, sewed on, clipped on or stuffed into your bra.

So my question is, do you know of any absolutely Godgeous Proverbs 31 women in this day and age who still keep it real or should we all just invest in a good weave and squeeze into that elusive size zero and call it a day?

15 thoughts on “The Perfect Girl…

  1. Really great topic to start off on and personnaly something all men realize at some point in their lives; that there’s more to life then a pretty face as this is the woman you’ll spend the rest of your life with, raise your children with..

    Really not a decision to take likely..

  2. Way to go, Lindi!

    Congratulations on Round One! I look forward to what’s to come if this is your “Hello”! Yes, you had me at “Hello”, Godgeous! So well thought out and perfectly written and sadly I’m not feeling eloquent this morning (or most mornings!) but I’m compelled to respond to your opening topic: one that consumes our society today. I applaud you on the bit of research that’s gone into Barbie, Lindz. Hm. Sad truths.

    Young lady, (not without beauty and charm of your own) I’m so satisfied in knowing that your aspirations are to be that timeless Proverbs 31 Woman… Every thinking woman of substance must be moved by this passage… Right there is a Woman for us all to stand to attention to – to emulate – to engage with – to add to our circle as we look inwards and turf out the fluff and baggage so we can stand taller and truer.

    Time to look at Proverbs again…
    Xxx

  3. U truly have outdone yourself lindz…..so proud of u….gat mad love 4 u girl…..ur blessed I tell u…..u are by far the coolest writer I knw hay…

  4. well done Lindi, this is an amazing note, food for thought indeed.
    Firstly, what is the purpose behind investing in good weave or wanting to be a size zero? I personaly love weaves and a slim body but that will not necessarily make me any less of a Proverbs 31 woman.
    Well, we are Proverbs 31 women in progress. We are continually being made perfect. Everyday we go through a defining process that will produce Proverbs 31 women in us.

  5. It’s funny how the image of the ‘perfect woman’ is ever changing- when I was growing up everyone wanted to be curvy, voluptuous woman and being skinny was frowned on, now the reverse is true and I wouldn’t be surprised if in a few years time we’ll be going through great lengths again to fit into a different mould the media dictates us to fit into to be ‘perfect’. Over all these years, however, the proverbs 31 woman has never changed because her worth is found in her character and not only in her external appearance (nothing wrong with looking good and throwing on a little fine purple linen every now and then though :D )
    This was just what I needed to read Lindi. Can’t wait for you next post! XOXO

  6. This is by far one of my favourite reads! You are soooo inspiring! Let us be determined to be proverbs 31 woman with godly standards… What’s the point of having all the outward beauty and all that money can buy but lose your soul! Personally I think most of the people that chase after materialistic things just to be approved by man are really SAD people! They seek approval from man instead of God as if wearing designer clothes puts a value on them… Dnt get me wrong, I have nothing against wearing designer and looking cute but if u allow those things to define you then there is clearly something wrong! Most ladies think dressing all sexy with your breast half out will get them a man but that only attracts the wrong kind of man… What most ladies seem to not know is that you can dress modest and still look cute… Beauty can only take you so far but character will keep you there! Thank you for being a blessing. Much luv always.

  7. My goodness this is so overwhelming. All your comments are so well thought -out and a lot of interesting perspectives are brought to the fore, like how Bonolo doesn’t mind weaves and a slim figure but it doesn’t stop her from being a Proverbs 31 woman. And that’s so true! If outward appearance enhances and adorns your inner beauty and isn’t the end all and be all, then go on sister! And Leazel, yes we need a consistent standard as women because the media is a little wishy washy on what true beauty is. XOXO

  8. I am left speechless, first article was please don’t be insulted, but refreshingly really good,I’m not a writer myself but I do appreciate the art of good literature and those who pursue it.Impressed:)

  9. I don’t like reading… I seriously don’t like it. To show u how worse I am in this… instead of buying books I have a collection of audio books in my Laptop. I am not buddies with reading I tell u!

    But I love good poetry and I dont mind sleeping late just reading it. When u were refering me to this blog I was excited that I will be reading one of your piece after a long time because I am your number one groupie…But when I saw a “novel” I dreaded reading it.

    To keep my word as a friend and to support u dear I read it, and I read it, I carried on reading, a sentence turned into paragraph from a paragraph to the body, from the body to the conclusion. I couldn’t stop reading your blog dear and the Topic is breathtaking…its funny how your poetic style creaps up in your writing “which I absolutely love”.

    brilliant stuff lindz
    I will comment on your topic but I have exceeded the word count…LOL

    Oh I have coined the phrase “Godgeous” absolutely love it :-)

  10. Nice post! Pretty good for a first post. I like how you compared today’s standards to the bible. It’s amazing that people still don’t understand their form of living actually contradicts to the Proverbs scripture in the Bible. But I have a question for you, how do you propose we reduce the guy’s perception of beauty outside of a lady to finding the perfect lady? You should reply back in a post :)

    *********************************** [Da Jabu]******************************************

  11. Sigh, sigh, sigh, I love your way with words, I don’t think they’re any out there left… Only time will reveal what lies behind the heart of such a deceptive creature… Woman, lol, i’m only just kidding a little bit. I really miss you and I’m proud of you

Leave a Reply

