I’m putting on my Sunday Best!

I would like to start out by saying that I am aware that it has almost been a week since I last posted an article and the reason for that is tied up in what I have been meditating on since I attended the Esther Prophetic Conference at NAGC this past weekend. Awesome awesome way to spend a weekend by the way.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how I started out wanting to just share topics that I find interesting and possibly having a discussion about them with a few girlfriends, but the more I wrote, the more I realized that it was impossible to separate my faith from whatever I wrote… From the abundance of the heart the issues of life flow and just like that, this became a “Christian Blog”.

I suppose it has a lot to do with how I spend my time, what I listen to, who I surround myself with, and I really hope you don’t mind me throwing in a scripture or two while discussing the latest fashion trends. I really can’t help myself.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my journey to the place I find myself in and its been a long winding road from when I was a little girl in itchy stockings and a chiffon fancy dress walking the dusty streets of Potchefstroom every Sunday morning with my grandmother on my way to a church with a loud bell at the entrance, wooden pews, stained glass windows and old hymnals.

A place where everybody acted like they were due for a rapture into heaven straight after the service, but instead as soon as they got back home after the service, it was like the clock struck midnight at Cinderella’s ball and the crystal carriage turned into a pumpkin again until next sunday.

It’s a wonderful “God bless you so and so” and “I’ll pray for sister so and so” charade most people don’t mind scheduling into their day at least once a week. A great reason to dress up and get emotional and go home feeling good routine most people repeat without even putting much thought into it.

But there’s some things I’ve realized recently.

1. The weekly cycle of putting on your Sunday Best and switching into your Monday Worst just hours later defeats the purpose of your Christ walk being more of a journey than a roundabout stroll in the same spot every week for the rest of your life. There needs to be progress. Hebrews 6:1states: ” So let us stop going over the basic teachings about Christ again and again. Let us go on instead and become mature in our understanding.”

2. Realize that a church is place where you are equipped to change circumstances, where you are trained to be effective. This is where you learn to master your gifts and calling. 1 Peter 4:10 states:
“Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.” So sitting back and enjoying the show clearly isn’t how we’re going to accomplish that.

3. Going to a church believing for a transformation in your life without realizing that it takes sowing your own life to transform the lives of your family members, your colleagues, your neighbor, and even the lives of complete strangers you meet along the way, then your life will most likely not be transformed until you realize and get started on that. Luke 4:18-19 states“The Spirit of the LORD is upon me,
for he has anointed me to bring Good News to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim that captives will be released,
that the blind will see,
that the oppressed will be set free, 19 and that the time of the LORD’s favor has come.” Its about bringing a ray of hope to others and that same light will illuminate your own life.

I’m not claiming to have it all figured out but I’m looking at all that and I’m thinking we all need a bit of a make-over as church-folk. Some straightening out and some touch-ups on the inside out and maybe who we portray ourselves as on Sunday morning won’t be something we put on, but something we’re growing into truly being… Everyday. Now can I get a witness somebody!

3 thoughts on “I’m putting on my Sunday Best!

  1. Its 4:41am, I’m literally under the covers and I can still feel the slices of cold air sneaking through my shutters; Paris is freezing and I cannot sleep! ( It has to be the glucose in the piece of chocolate I had minutes ago). Saving grace! A thought sprang to mind: “Lindi’s new post is up!”. I’m so chuffed to be up reading what I just did!

    First off, Praise Jesus for the official Christian Blog. I’m so proud and excited for you Lindi. Shiiine!

    A night and a half ago, between 2 and 5am, I found myself in the same state; hyped up, unable to go to la-la land. So I googled. Isaac Newton’s third law states: “for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction”. After much more research and scripture references such as “you reap what you sow”, “an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth” and ofcourse “do unto others…” (You know thes rest”), I finally came to understand the (urgent) need for us to immerse ourselves into exercising the part of us that God needs and can only relate to: our Spirit. I paraphrase Iyanla Vanzant when she said that there is nothing that our Spirit cannot figure out. God is Spirit; Jesus said in John 4:24 “God is a Spirit: and they that worship him MUST worship him in spirit and in truth” . We too are spirits. The manifestations in the physical derive from the spiritual. Thoughts, actions, behaviors… Spirit. Period.

    I believe that’s where the (over -due) make-over needs to be performed: of late I’ve been meditating on 2nd Corinthians 4verses(17)and18: “for our light affliction which is but for a moment worketh for us a far more exceeding weight of glory. While we look not at the things which are seen but at the things which are not seen; for the things that are seen are temporal but the things that are not seen are eternal”. Paul also wrote in the letter to the Romans chapter 8 “for to be carnally minded is death”.

    We need to get in-tune with God’s frequency. Period. Lord have mercy. Its not easy! It takes surrender and the will to just shut all the musical, mental, emotional rubbish and noise out to enable the inner ears to be activated, quickened. It takes sacrifice. And only God can assist us in doing so the right way. The attempt to not listen to any music in the morning time for me has been “not-so-successful”. But I need to and will try again in two weeks…. Hahaha just kidding :D).

    So brothers and sisters so and so… let us examine ourselves and go to the dark places in our souls only we know how to reach and ask those tough questions: “am I happy with my present state of mind? Am I materialistic? Am I too focused on the delights of the flesh? Have they brought me any fruit at all? How do I REALLY feel? Am I afraid of what getting into the Spirit will cost me? Why?”

    God desires for us to hear Him perfectly. Real talk; the answers to our pertinent questions and desires are in the Spirit. I don’t know about y’all but I’m tired of asking for signs, glaring at the sky, hoping to see Jesus’ foot or something juuust to make sure I’m not on my way to number 666 Hot and Crispy Avenue . I want and need to hear Him say “yes you can have it”, “no that man is not who I have in mindfor you”, “no you’re not crazy”, “I love you”, Himself. Clearly!

    First step. Pray (persistently and consistently)for the desire to understand the need for daily and consistent spiritual exercise. Step two: when the revelation hits you over the head, begin to slowly shut out the noise out. Three, listen. Finally, prepare for take-off! The inner ears will become attuned and God will be speaking and becoming more real than our fellow-man. Once its on, oh its on! Be encouraged, He’s with us every step of the way! Remember we can’t do it alone: the Lord said to Zecharaiah in the 6th verse of chapter 4 that its ‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’.

    Additional scripture references:

    -Proverbs 20verse27
    -Jeremiah 33v3
    -Romans chapters 7 and 8
    -Galatians chapter 5
    -Hebrews 11v6

    Sis’onke.
    (Zzzzzzzzz….

    In His Love

    Bises, xoxoxo

  2. very thought provoking stuff…. Lindiwez post (as usual) got me setting two alarms for midnight to turn on the PC and get ready for another spiritual high off her wonderful work. I have to admit i am guilty as charged, i do let my Sunday best wear me rather than me wearing it… and The Covenant kid raised some very interesting points wow…..flabbergasted out of my mind!!!

  3. U outdone yoself! vanity is a huge problem in life and we think its fine because everyone is doing it! now its in the church and we are not dealing with it ourselves! bcoz the pastor has already addified u now its time u go work it out…

Leave a Reply

