Setting failure-resistant resolutions

Happy New Year!!!!!!

So I took a little break from writing this festive season. I trust that many of you also took a time-out of some sort from whatever it is that keeps you from spending quality time with the people who truly matter and also took some time out to just be…

Just being is really hard to do nowadays with all the commitments we tie ourselves up in during the year and I can’t even tell you how many times I caught myself trying to write an epic Christmas or New Year’s post only to realize that it would feel a tad awkward writing a post about spending quality time with your loved ones on Christmas or having an amazing time on New Years Eve if I’m not doing that myself. Nope, I’d be spending it in my room, staring at my computer, trying to be deep and inspiring again.

So I risked losing those few readers who expected that epic Christmas and New Year’s post and went on holiday instead.

As soon as the clock struck midnight and the sky lit up with fireworks and festive cheer, I began to think of all the things I’m dedicating my efforts towards accomplishing during the course of this year.

Making resolutions is almost a tradition at the end of the year for many people, but according to a study in 2007 by Richard Wisemen from the University of Bristol, 78% of those who set New Year’s resolutions fail.

What about the 22% who don’t fail, you ask? What makes them immune to the February meltdown where diets and other good intentions go to die and you revert back to your regular old self again?

Well, it all has to do with how you set your goals, and goals that are measurable tend to be achievable too.

So if you say this year I want to lose weight, then you my friend are a part of the 78%. But if you say I want to lose a specific amount of weight a week and you state how you’re going to do just that, then welcome to the 22% club where dreams actually come true.

Just taking a shot in the dark isn’t enough. You need to structure a plan to be successful and define the resolutions with a carefully thought-out methodology. A great way to start is an honest assessment of where you are before spending time on where you want to be. In my opinion, failing to do just that is where we first go wrong. We’re trying to get “there” without first being here.

In my own experiences, I’ve found that before God starts to mould and shape you into the sort of person you want to be in the future, He needs you to be willing to deal with who you are right now.

More often than not, if you’re out chasing your dreams and they turn out to be a mirage as soon as you’re getting close and you’re wondering where God is in all this, He’s right where you left Him… In your present. Trying to deal with your right now. Trying to deal with whatever it is that made you want to be somewhere or someone else in the first place. He’s waiting for you to stop running around trying to get “there” for a second and try being here with Him, because only when you’re traveling with Him can you get “there” without first having to lose yourself.

So friends, what are your plans for this year and how are you going to make sure that they become an Absolutely Godgeous reality?

Do you even believe in making New Year’s resolutions at all?

3 thoughts on “Setting failure-resistant resolutions

  1. Absolutely brilliant! I like the part about breaking your goals into bits and pieces because it clearly illustrates the principle of the whole being greater than the sum of the parts…and it brings out the value of spending time doing nothing but just planning, something which is seriously lacking in the 88% you talked about but is very crucial to success. Well done!

  2. Well thought out with (unlike my tardy response!) the perfect timing. I think this as good a time as any for s.m.a.r.t. goals.

    I’m Inspired!

Leave a Reply

