Master of your life, Captain of your Destiny

my brother Vusi, my dad and I

my brother Vusi, my dad and I

So my dad finally got his MBA (Masters of Business Administration) this year, and as I stood at the back of the graduation hall (because you wouldn’t believe how late we arrived!), I couldn’t make out his facial expression while he was on stage, but it was safe to guess that he was literally beaming from the inside out… Like literally.

I knew this because as he walked across that stage, he had simultaneously fulfilled the highest possible need on Maslouw’s hierarchy of needs; and that’s self-actualization…
Its like beating the high score of life.

It wasn’t easy for him to achieve this, it wasn’t convenient, he wasn’t even whistling a happy tune as he worked on most days, but it was necessary.

It won’t get him a high-flying career, it won’t make him insanely rich, it won’t even make him famous, but you know what? It was absolutely, unmistakably, tremendously necessary… To him.

I’m writing this post while on a “study break” because if I see another communications textbook, it’ll be a moment too soon, and I’m neither denying nor confirming that I’ve had vivid fantasies of throwing them in the fireplace and roasting marshmallows while singing “khumbaya”… Before I pack my bags and, you know, go on a crusade that lasts my entire life and maybe God will send those same wonderful ravens that fed prophet Elijah in 1 Kings 17 to bring me the KFC twister meal plus Oreo Mcflurry from McDonalds everyday and I could live off of that… I hope that my ordering from two rival fast-food giants for one meal isn’t too much of a hassle for them…. But anyway, that’s besides the point.

The point is, the pursuit of higher learning is hard. Right in the thick of it, it makes me think of all the university drop-outs who suddenly became billionaires overnight. It makes me want to sit in the garage and not come out until I have invented a solar-powered flying car that you can steer with electric pulses in your brain or I’ve released a mix-tape that’ll have me selling out two stadiums worth of concert tickets in less than a minute like Lady Gaga, as long as it means I don’t have to spend the rest of this year staring at a book, trying very hard to grow increasingly more educated the longer I stare at it.

And it’s not that young people don’t value knowledge anymore,unless they’re the “Jersey-Shore-watching type”, but I think it’s the type of knowledge we value, along with how it’s packaged and delivered that’s changed.

Gone are the days when people owned 12 set encyclopedia sets or spent lazy afternoons soaking in the musty flavor of a second-hand book with the ramblings of an old (probably even dead) man on every page.

Nowadays, the information industry is pretty much turning out just like the fast-food industry, and Google is like a 24hr drive-through for all those with an appetite for facts, figures and useless trivia in large amounts.

Nowadays, every teenager thinks they’re smarter than their parents because truthfully, we do know a lot… We know a whole bunch of stuff our parents didn’t at our age and everyday it all accumulates in giant heaps in the wasteland of our brains.

There’s a quote by Isaac Asimov that says: “The saddest aspect of life right now is that science gathers knowledge faster than society gathers wisdom.”

So being smart is cool and all, but truth is, we can’t google wisdom.

Proverbs 4:5-7 says: “Get wisdom, get understanding: forget it not; neither decline from the words of my mouth. Forsake her not, and she shall preserve thee: love her, and she shall keep thee. Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.”

And that pretty much sums up what I’m on about today…

Oh, and that I might or might not be praying for a flock of ravens and may or may not need you to intercede with me on this one ;)

One thought on “Master of your life, Captain of your Destiny

  1. :) Nice post. My thoughts.. Google while it’s an amazing tool for everyone I think has made young people of today a bit arrogant as while they really can acquire knowledge quickly the actual wisdom often acquired through experience isn’t there .They never really bother to ask walking, talking Google’s of life. Our Elders..Fathers, mothers, mentors and the like. A grave mistake on our part I think.

    Great read.

Leave a Reply

